Since the official Capt. Of the Squirrel Patrol, Rusty, welcomed me into his squirrel patrol ranks, I decided I needed to take my squirrel watching a little more seriously. Normally I just walk along until Mom or Dad says, “Squirrel!”, at which time I jerk my head up from whatever I was doing and stare into the trees. Now I’m trying to find the squirrels on my own.

Mom has this bird feeder that is supposed to be a “squirrel proof” bird feeder, but so far the squirrels don’t seem to know that. They think it’s for them. I’m making it my job to protect the birds now.

Mom has been putting me on this cable thing in the yard lately. I’m supposed to be practicing for my first camping trip coming up next week. I guess the campgrounds want dogs on leashes or tied up at all times. That doesn’t sound very nice if you ask me. I don’t even know what this “camping” thing is, but already I’m bored with the cable thing. SO, while I’m stuck outside on the cable, I watch for the squirrels. So far all I’ve seen are lizards when I’m out there. They are sure funny little guys!

Sometimes I get super bored ‘cause no squirrels are showing up. I just practice my stealth crawl so I can sneak up on them when they finally do.

Shhhhh. Be vewy vewy quiet. I’m huntin’ wabbits, um, I mean squirrels.

♥ Behr Behr, reporting live from squirrel patrol.

