On the last day of my Mom’s conference, we had planned a special hike to some waterfalls. We were going to have a picnic there and play in the water.

The hike was going well for a while.

 

 

Behr hiking framed

river framed

 

As it got later in the day, Mom kept talking about a class she had just taken on medical care for people who were attacked by mt. lions and bears. I don’t know why she was saying that, since I’ve never attacked anybody. I’m not “lion” when I say that, either. 🙂

 

waterfall framed

 

We finally got to the waterfall where we were going to play in the water and have our food, which I was really looking forward to.

I was enjoying the water and waiting for my snacks, when suddenly Mom changed her mind and said we had to leave because it was the wrong time of day to be there and that we didn’t have pepper spray.

I don’t know why she needed pepper spray, since we hadn’t even gotten our food out yet. She loves pepper, but never mentioned spraying it on her food before.

Then she said she wanted to be closer to our car, so we hiked BACK without even eating! I was NOT happy!!! Mom and Dad always give me snacks when we hike, and I was hungry.

We got back closer to our car and FINALLY Mom was happy about having our food. They sat down to eat and got my snacks and bully sticks out and life was good again.

 

Behr with bully framed

 

I was hoping Mom was over her weird behavior, but she was just getting started.

She reminded Dad that I was a dane (duh!) and that I was supposed to be interested in bears (hello, I AM a bear). Then she said I had to stay on a leash and not go anywhere. The only thing good was she let me keep my snacks. 

She kept looking around for more bears. I think one Behr is all they need. I seriously was having doubts about her at this point.

Suddenly, she grabbed Dad and said loudly, “Bear!” without explaining herself. He thought I was eating stuff I wasn’t supposed to (OK, I do that pretty often…) and grabbed me to look. I didn’t want him to take my bully stick, so I swallowed it WHOLE. No way was I giving that up after waiting so long for it.  The next thing I know, I’m being taken back to the car and Mom saying something about me being blonde. Ok, now I think she seriously needs help.

When we got back to the parking lot, she and Dad were telling everyone I was a blonde Behr and they all ran back to their cars. They didn’t know my name was “Behr”, so they thought Mom meant this:

blonde bear framed

(a blonde phase black bear- photo source unknown)

I was trying to picture myself as a blonde.

Blonde Behr

I finally decided I should keep my black hair.

Then we drove back to town and ate in a restaurant, instead of finishing our food at the picnic area. I have no idea why Mom and Dad went all the way out to the forest to eat and then didn’t eat their food and tried to take mine away.

All I can say is at least the next day they were normal again, thankfully. 

♥ Behr Behr, the blonde babe 🙂

 

Behr Behr’s mom’s side of the story… I was attending a medical conference, which included classes (complete with graphic photos and video) on bear attacks. Being the last class I took in the conference, the images were still on my mind as we hiked.

I was watching for bears since we were in  known heavy bear territory. I kept Behr on the leash while eating because Danes were originally bred for bear hunting, and my previous danes let me know the instinct was still there when the opportunity presented itself. 

A RARE blonde (black bear in gold phase) was quickly heading for our table when I saw it and said, “BEAR!” We left in a calm but steady manner, leaving our food on the table as a diversion for the bear. The ploy worked, but we lost our possessions, food, cooler, etc.The bear came very close to me as I was getting up from the table. Too close for comfort.

I just wanted to clear things up and let you know I hadn’t really lost my mind. 🙂 

Anyone wanting to learn more about bear and mt. lion behavior and attacks can get this book or a really great video to learn bear behavior. Both are by Dr. Stephen Herrero. I have absolutely no affiliation with him, and am not compensated for referrals to his materials. I do think his work and classes are invaluable if you hike or camp in bear country, though. 

That’s my side of the story, although Behr’s viewpoint is valid.

She’s a pretty funny dog with a wild imagination and fun perspective. That’s why we love her so much. She keeps us laughing with her view of things, for sure. 🙂


